top of page

Understanding Special Education: Exploring the 14 Categories for Eligibility Under IDEA

Updated: Jul 5

In the world of special education, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is the guiding force ensuring that every child, regardless of ability, has access to an appropriate education. IDEA categorizes disabilities into 14 distinct areas, each representing a unique set of challenges that may impact a student's learning experience.

The Fourteen Categories for Eligibility Under IDEA

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)

Individuals with ASD may exhibit challenges in communication, social interaction, and behavior. Specialized interventions focus on fostering social skills, communication, and creating supportive learning environments.

Deaf and Hard of Hearing (DHH)

Students with Deafness and Hard of Hearing experience various levels of hearing impairments, requiring adaptations such as sign language, assistive listening devices, or cochlear implants to facilitate communication and learning.

Deaf-Blindness (DB)

Deaf-Blindness refers to concomitant hearing and visual impairments that create unique challenges. Educational plans are tailored to address the complex needs of individuals with this dual sensory loss.

Emotional Disturbance (ED)

Emotional Disturbance encompasses a range of emotional or behavioral challenges affecting a student's ability to learn. Interventions focus on creating a positive and supportive learning environment and often involve counseling and behavior management strategies.

Intellectual Disabilities (ID)

Intellectual Disabilities involve limitations in intellectual functioning and adaptive behaviors. Educational programs emphasize life skills, socialization, and academic content tailored to individual abilities.

Multiple Disabilities (MD)

Students with Multiple Disabilities have two or more impairments that significantly impact educational performance. Customized programs address the unique challenges arising from the combination of disabilities.

Orthopedic Impairment (OI)

Orthopedic Impairment relates to physical disabilities affecting a student's mobility or ability to engage in educational activities. Accommodations, assistive technology, and physical therapy contribute to their educational plans.

Other Health Impairments (OHI)

OHI encompasses a broad range of health conditions affecting a child's educational performance, such as ADHD or chronic health issues. Individualized support plans ensure access to the curriculum.

Specific Learning Disabilities (SLD)

SLD includes difficulties in reading, writing, and mathematics. Tailored interventions and accommodations help students with SLD succeed in the general education curriculum.

Speech - Language Impairment (SLI)

SLI refers to the category of students who experience challenges in the areas of articulation, fluency, vocal quality, and/or language development (expressive, receptive and pragmatic language or socials skills). Interventions in this area aims to improve communication skills for academic and social success.

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)

Traumatic Brain Injury results from an injury to the brain, affecting cognitive, emotional, and physical functioning. Specialized educational plans address the unique needs arising from brain injury.

Visual Impairment (VI)

Students with Visual Impairments, including blindness, require adaptations such as Braille, tactile materials, and assistive technology to access educational content.

Developmental Delay (DD)

This category is for young children (ages 3-9) who demonstrate delays in physical, cognitive, communication, social, or emotional development, developmental delay is a category that allows for early intervention services.

Non-Categorical Early Childhood (NCEC):

Non-Categorical Early Childhood refers to services for young children with disabilities that may not fit neatly into one specific category, recognizing the unique and diverse needs of this population.

The 14 categories for eligibility under IDEA highlight the personalized education for students. By understanding and addressing the unique challenges within each category, everyone can collaborate to create an environment where every child can thrive. In this rich tapestry of diversity, special education emerges as a beacon of support, guiding each student toward their full potential.



bottom of page